The functional windows are a group of tools located in the upper right side of the virtual classroom. They resemble green boxes and each of them can be clicked to expand into a window. This section will explain all of those functional windows in detail. The table below lists all of the available functional windows and their use in the room:

NOTE: Every new individual video box will appear below the Presenter’s individual video box and above the chat box.

Open, close, move and resize the Functional windows

Every functional window has a green header on top of it (on the video window it shows on hover with the mouse). When you move the box it acquires a green border.

Fullscreen mode of the functional windows

Upon clicking the (Fullscreen) icon you expand the box to Fullscreen mode.Here’s an example of how the Chat window looks in Fullscreen mode.

To exit Fullscreen mode either press the Escape button on your keyboard or click the (Fullscreen) button in the top right hand corner.

Video

Getting Started

The default configuration in the Room is 1 Presenter‘s video and 1 box with the Mosaic video. New windows appear on top of the already opened ones, but you can move and arrange them as is convenient for you.

Mosaic Video

The video mosaic has the same layout for all participants. The difference in the Presenter’s view is that they have access to the Control button. The tutor has access to quick controls set from the Mosaic Video

Individual controls for every user in the Mosaic

Individual Video

By default only the Presenter has an individual video Window (this is a system configuration). At any time the Presenter can hide the Mosaic Video, open individual video Windows (higher video quality – not recommended when there is one or more participants with a slow internet connections), or close them.

Add person to the Mosaic Video

Only the Room Creator can add a participant to the Grid. This is done by giving the participant the permission to be in the Mosaic video (through the Control All Participants menu).

By default when there are more than two participants in the room, the Mosaic starts automatically.

Remove person from the Mosaic Video

Only the Room Creator can remove a participant from the Mosaic. This is done by stopping the participant’s permission to be in the Mosaic (through the Control All Participants menu).

Show Individual Video of a participant

Only the Room Creator can show a participant in a separate individual video. This is done by giving the participant the permission to have an individual video. There are two ways to do this:

A: through the Control All Participants menu

B: through the Quick Controls in the Mosaic video (seen in the screenshot below)

Hide the Individual Video for a Participant

Only the Room Creator can hide a participant’s individual video. This is done by stopping the participant having the permission for individual video. There are two ways to do this:

A: through the Control All Participants menu;

B: through the Quick Controls in the Mosaic video (seen in the screenshot below)

Sound Controls

The Room Creator can control other participants’ microphones and adjust their audio settings from the controls in the Mosaic video.

Chat

Participants can chat with each other either in Personal or Group chat. By default you are in the Main Group chat.

Use the dropdown menu to switch between Group and Personal chat.

Upload box

The Creator of the room can upload all or some of the files and materials you need at any time so: Participants can only upload and download the uploaded files only if they have the corresponding permissions.

  • Tutors can upload them to the Whiteboard;
  • Other participants can download them;
  • Tutors can play them through the media player (media files only).

Upload files from your computer

To upload your files either click on the (Select files) button or select the files from your computer and drag them into the Upload box.

You can upload all popular file formats and sizes. The larger the file the longer it will take to upload. The time needed to convert and upload your desired file depends on its size and type.

Upload files from the file library

When subscribed to the Premium Virtual Classroom plan you can upload files in advance in order to use them as a resource when you open a new Virtual Classroom.In order to upload and have files ready to use as a premade materials, go to ‘File Library’ after you log into your account on www.vedamo.com

You will see this menu:

Select ‘’Upload new file” and upload the file you wish to use. A new window will open.

(Upload New File)

You will see the newly uploaded file on the list and it will take a short period of time for it to be converted and ready to be used in the Virtual Classroom.

While in the Virtual Classroom, select the “Open File Library” button

A new window will open with the possibility to upload your desired file.

Import files

This opens a new dialog window where you can choose what pages to import and how. In order to import your files on the whiteboard press the ‘+’ button in the Uploaded files window.

This opens a new dialog window where you can choose what pages to import and how. In order to import your files on the whiteboard press the ‘+’ button in the Uploaded files window.

Distribute in pages This will place the selected pages from your document in separate pages on the whiteboard. Otherwise, this will put all the selected pages on the first whiteboard page.

On a new page – This will import the new pages at the end, creating new pages after the last.

Only supported files can be imported.

(Deny) This icon shows that either the file type is not supported or you do not have permission to import it.

NOTE: Only Room Creators and Presenters can import files (if they have the permission to Write on the whiteboard)

List of supported file formats:

.jpg, .pdf, .png, .doc, .docx, .xls, .xlsx, .odg, .odp, .ppt, .pptx, .ods, .odt, .mp3, .mp4, .txt., .rtf, .bib, .xml, .fodt, .html, .ltx, .ott, .pdb, .psw, .xlt, .sdw, .stw, .sxw, .bmp, .emf, .eps, .fodg, .gif, .met, .odd, .otg, .pbm, .pgm, .ras, .std, .svm, .swf, .wmf, .xhtml, .xpm, .potm, .pot, .pps, .sdd, .sti, .sxi, .csv, .dbf, .dif, .fods, .sxc, .ots, .slk, .stc, .avi

Delete Files

Participants can delete only the files they have uploaded themselves. An exception is made for Presenters and Administrators who can delete all files.

A confirmation message appears :

NOTE: If you delete a file that is imported on the whiteboard – you will lose the image on the whiteboard.

Download Files

All participants can download the files, if they have the permission to Download files. Find the file you need and click on the download button.

NOTE: If you do not see this button you actually do not have the permission to download the file

See File Information

Media Player

In the media player you can share videos from YouTube (only) and upload video or audio files directly from your computer.

Adding a YouTube video to the media player

In order to add a video from YouTube to the player, you can either copy the link directly from the video’s address bar

or use the Short link from the YouTube Share option

Then paste the link in the media player:

Play your uploaded video or audio files

To play media files from your computer you need to upload them first. Put them in the Upload Window click the “Play file in the player” button and they will be automatically added in the Playlist.

WARNING: Be careful of Copyrights for the media files you are uploading.

Arrange Media Playlist

When you import a new audio or video file, they are added to the bottom of the Playlist. You can arrange the list by dragging the desired item up or down with your mouse.

Delete video/audio from the Media Playlist

Select the video you want to remove from the list and click on the X button.

NOTE: There is no request for confirmation.

Personal Notes

Every participant has a Personal notes tool where he/she can take text notes during the session and later export those notes as an html file.

NOTE: If you change the computer or room you will lose your personal notes.

Personal notes stay the same when you switch between groups. No one can read them, except you.

NEXT ARTICLE: Whiteboard tools

Did this answer your question?